Taxpayers' Alliance

Taxpayers' Alliance


The Taxpayers’ Alliance (TPA) is a British organisation that campaigns for a low tax society and greater transparency with taxpayer money. It was founded in 2004 by Matthew Elliott, former Chief Executive of Vote Leave, and Andrew Allum, a consultant at L.E.K Consulting. Alongside climate science denial think tanks such as The Global Warming Policy Foundation, TPA is part of the network of right wing think tanks which occupy 55 Tufton Street.

The TPA claims to have the support of over 90,000 grassroots activists campaigning for public spending cuts, and was described by Atlas CEO Brad Lips as “a force of nature in a relatively short amount of time”. With close links to frontbench Conservatives and business leaders, a number of TPA policy recommendations have been taken up, such as reforming stamp duty, cutting beer duty and cutting public spending.

Stance on Climate Change

The Taxpayers’ Alliance Manifesto, published shortly before the 2010 General Election, includes their recommendation to:

Abandon the wasteful 2020 renewables targets and the EU Emissions Trading Scheme so that families aren’t hit with big rises in energy bills.”

Key Deeds

April, 2018

In an article for CapX, an analyst for the Taxpayers’ Alliance dismissed fossil fuel divestment as harmful to the taxpayer and ineffective.

April, 2017

The Taxpayers’ Alliance signs a letter published in The Telegraph calling for the removal of renewable energy subsidies by 2020 and the expansion of the shale gas industry, alongside other right wing think tanks also located in 55 Tufton Street.

October, 2016

The Taxpayers’ Alliance attends the Conservative Party Conference, co-hosting a fringe event with American climate science denying pressure groups the Competitive Enterprise Institute (CEI) and the Heritage Foundation.

The event was aimed at promoting a new and ‘freer’ trade deal between the UK and US once the UK has left the European Union, and hints at what the groups may lobby the British government for in the future.

October 2011

Taxpayers’ Alliance director Matthew Sinclair publishes Let Them Eat Carbon, claiming that climate policies in the UK are inefficient, and that money for such policies only funds special interests.